JP1 Remotes Forum Index JP1 Remotes


FAQFAQ SearchSearch 7 days of topics7 Days MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

My interface died!!!!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6597
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:27 pm    Post subject: My interface died!!!! Reply with quote

A decade ago I bought an serial interface from DIYGADGET. I don't know if it was the JP1.1/2 or JP1.1/3 serial interface. I'm thinking it was the first one, although it works just great with JP1.3. I used the cable with a Dynex Serial/Usb Adapter. When the ribbon started to separate I bought a series of TommyTyler JP1.2/3 interfaces, but each worked for about 100 maybe 200 downloads (about 3 months) and then they quit. In the meantime that clunky diygadget with usb to serial adapter has been cranking along for thousands of uploads/downloads.

It just died. I don't know if it is the gadget or the adapter, but I'm now desperate. I've been half following where you guys have been doing something else for your cables, buying something from ebay. Is that something that's going to involve assembly? Do they last?

If I get the serial interface, with adapter, is there something to look (chipset) needed to make it work with the JP1 tools? When I plug the old one in, it says Prolific Usb to serial com port.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 17725
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The following thread has all the info on the cable that we've all been using:
http://www.hifi-remote.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=16360

This cable costs less than $10 shipped from China and usually gets here in about 2 weeks. As you can see from the image below, rather than having a conventional 6-hole connector, it has 6 individual 1-hole connectors. You can either replace these with a regular connector, or you can glue them together to form a single connector. But the cables do work and they are reliable.


_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6597
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I can canibalize my parallel JP1 cable that and use that 6 pin connector.

NO Soldering, just crimping? Kind of like punching down all that ethernet, only I can do it in full sunlight so I might actually be able to see what I'm doing.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 17725
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, no soldering, just crimping.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3373

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Technically not even crimping. Just press down the clips to pull out the old pins and snap in the new ones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 17725
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mdavej wrote:
Technically not even crimping. Just press down the clips to pull out the old pins and snap in the new ones.

True, if she has a more modern type of interface with the slimmer connectors, but if it's an older one with one of the older IDC connectors, then it's crimping.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6597
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This has given me a total PANIC ATTACK! So I ordered one of those chippartner cables and one of DIY Gadgets JP1.2/1.3 serial cable. If the DIY gadget works, then my serial adapter went bad, and I'll buy a new adapter too. I have worked really hard to become JP1-self-sufficient. But when it comes to hardware, if my cable dies, I'm totally out of luck. So I back up my hardware. I have two widgets, 2 USB eeprom cables, but only 1 flash cable, because 3 $30 attempts to get one that works with the newer skinny openings all ended up failing with the kind of heavy duty required for extender and protocol development.

mdavej wrote:
Technically not even crimping. Just press down the clips to pull out the old pins and snap in the new ones.

Rob wrote:
True, if she has a more modern type of interface with the slimmer connectors, but if it's an older one with one of the older IDC connectors, then it's crimping.



I have this connector on my old parallel cable and a similar connector on my serial cable that just died. I had to mark pin one on each because this one was assembled upside down by the supplier.



I also have this connector on an non-working flash cable. Is this possibly reusable. Until I read this post, I had forgotten that many of the remotes I support have that itsy-bitsy opening.

_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 17725
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I put one of those old crimp style connectors on the first chip_partner cable that I bought, so yes you can do that, but that connector is too big for many of the newer remotes.

The second connector, wrapped in white, is the one that Dave was talking about. If you were to rip that white heat-shrink off it would look like the connector below. You can slide out the metal connectors, then slide out the metal connectors on the new cable and slide them into the plastic housing. You could also make it pretty by sliding a piece of heat shrink tubing over it, if you like.


_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdavej
Expert


Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 3373

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vicky,

PM me your address and I can send you several of the above connectors. I used to sell them but stopped because so many got lost in the mail (I suspect it was because the envelope I put them in didn't make it through the sorting machine). I still have a ton of them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pH7_jp1



Joined: 14 Sep 2003
Posts: 432
Location: Sterling Heights, MI

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Vicki,

I just saw your post about losing your old interface. I have at least 2 that I would be glad to give you. If you want me to mail something to you, just PM your address and I can drop it in the mail.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vickyg2003
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 6597
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With two cables on order, I do feel a lot better.

I hope I can assemble that cable, but it doesn't sound like much fun. I see that DIYGadgets has an FTDI Flash cable with the small end already on it for 14.99. Is that what I'm going to be assembling? I'd easily spend $5, to avoid the assembly task.

Funny how hard I balked at buying my first interface back in the Yahoo days, and how now I have major panic when I don't have one.
_________________
Remember to provide feedback to let us know how the problem was solved and share your upgrades.

Tip: When creating an upgrade, always include ALL functions from the oem remote, even if you never plan on assigning them to a button. Complete function lists makes an upgrade more helpful to others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
The Robman
Site Owner


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 17725
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the chip_partner cables are a lot more reliable than the DIY cables.

I think I have a 2nd chip_partner cable that I never modified, so maybe I will make a video showing just how easy it is to swap the connectors over to a 2*3 housing.
_________________
Rob
www.hifi-remote.com
Please don't PM me with remote questions, post them in the forums so all the experts can help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic       JP1 Remotes Forum Index -> JP1 - General Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Get Smart! the band's official homepage Rockabilly Central